A Word for the Year; Home

home 1My Desk It has been my practice to come up with a word to focus on each new year. They usually come to me in a moment of excitement representing some new calling or stage in moving forward. But this year the word that has come to me puts forward a whole new level of challenges. Home. I’m not good with home, not in the house I live in sense. I’m good at city as home, family as home, community as home, creativity as home, even my body as home. But the “I live here” part of home has never been mine to have. Don’t get me wrong, I love my house to be pleasant and comfortable. I like making things and certainly love to cook. But calling any place I have lived a home is a stretch. So for the next year I’ve decided to explore what home in all its facets is to me and how I can connect to them, and learning how to make where I live more than a house.

Leave a Reply

