Taking a Step Back From Technology

a-with-head-phonesA New Weekend Ritual

Alder and I have gotten into the habit of taking the bus a few miles on the weekend to go to the coffee shop and spend a few hours on our computers. We haven’t had internet since August, and I’m not in a rush to get it again, I don’t feel like there is a need for it. Both of us have plenty of access to it during the weekdays so it isn’t like I’m being a mean mom or anything. Besides the library has a lot of movies we can borrow.  And if we really need to get online Kevin has a hotspot on his phone.

Why? There are a few reasons.

  1. We spend more time together cooking and hanging out.
  2. Internet is expensive and I rather keep the $60 a month for something more fun.
  3. I’m so fried from looking at the computer at work I don’t really want to when I get home.
  4. We get more sleep.
  5. We read more.
  6. See number 1.

So if you see us staring at our screens out and about it isn’t that we’re being antisocial, we’re just taking a little time to catch up on things from the week.

Who knows how long we’ll keep to the decision, we’ll just have to see.

Leave a Reply

